Forums Western Europe United Kingdom Private Drive being Used as Public Access

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voice, and was last updated by Benjamin Leese 6 years, 7 months ago
  • Roderick Freeman

I am a resident on this stretch of private drive. The only vehicles that have legal rights to use this piece of drive are those covered by the B95 6DH postcode, however we are increasingly getting inappropriate useage by vehicles visiting adjacent properties such as Edstone Hall to the west, or Cutlers Farm to the east. The drive is also being used as a cut-through between Langley Rd & Stratford Rd. We have been stopping some vehicles and asking why they are using our private drive, invariably it is their sat nav device that has directed them on to our property. The drive is gated and has signage indicating it is private property, but the intrusions continue and are increasing, of particular concern is the damage being caused to the drive surface, verges and over-hanging trees by delivery trucks.

Ben (HERE Moderator)

Hi Roderick,
    I’ve checked the HERE database and the roads in that area are all marked as both no through traffic and private from the A3400 to the road to Cutlers Farm Business Centre. And private access from Cutlers Farm Business Centre southwards to Langley Road. Perhaps one of our competitors is supplying the erroneous routing. Thanks, Ben

Roderick Freeman

Thank you Ben – the main problem we are having is the use of this drive as access to adjacent properties such as Edstone Hall. Delivery vehicles for Edstone Hall are routinely directed across this private drive by their sat-nav devices, despite the Hall having it’s own access road from the A3400., and having absolutely no rights of access across our drive. Do you have any suggestions as to how one goes about having sat-nav maps amended to prevent this happening? I have the Land Registry Title No: and details it that is helpful.

Gordon HERE Map Master (Ambassador)