Forums North America United States Does Here set speed limits as they exist or how they want them to be?

This topic contains 14 replies, has 4 voice, and was last updated by Sam Smith 6 days, 2 hours ago
  • Dana Archer

Serious question: How do I get Here reviewers to correct this? I'm a long-time editor for a competing app and I know what I'm dong. It's irritating to have my in-vehicle nav system display the wrong information.

This section of Hwy 18 all the way to the Big Bear Dam is 55 MPH. I've set it as such but it it always disapproved by reviewers. I don't know what to do because there seems to be no way to communicate with or appeal a decision by reviewers. I'm highly familiar with this road and the speed-limit signs are clearly posted and can be viewed in Google Street View. This section falls under the "55 MPH rule." California Driver's Handbook: "The maximum speed limit on most California highways is 65 mph. You may drive 70 mph where posted. Unless otherwise posted, the maximum speed limit is 55 mph on a two-lane undivided highway and for vehicles towing trailers."

Vehicle Code Section: 22349.
    (a) Except as provided in Section 22356, no person may drive a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than 65 miles per hour.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no person may drive a vehicle upon a two-lane, undivided highway at a speed greater than 55 miles per hour unless that highway, or portion thereof, has been posted for a higher speed by the Department of Transportation or appropriate local agency upon the basis of an engineering and traffic survey. For purposes of this subdivision, the following apply:

(1) A two-lane, undivided highway is a highway with not more than one through lane of travel in each direction.

(2) Passing lanes may not be considered when determining the number of through lanes.